3rd International Multidisciplinary Conference on Hydrology and Ecology Ecosystems, Groundwater and Surface Water Pressures and Options

When 02 May, 2011 08:00 AM to
05 May, 2011 03:00 PM
Where Vienna, Austria
Contact Name
Add event to calendar vCal

Many ecological systems owe their existence to physical/chemical properties of groundwater and surface water, and can be damaged if water flow or water properties are changed by anthropogenic or natural processes. To address the resulting issues, this conference brings together engineers and researchers from engineering and ecological disciplines. The disciplines include, but are not limited to, hydrology, ecology, environmental engineering, biology, chemistry, geochemistry, environmental biogeochemistry, and subsurface microbiology. The unifying theme is the interaction between groundwater and (or) /surface water and ecological systems. A typical example is the hyporheic zone in riparian areas, where the ecological system interacts with water and chemical flows between surface and groundwater.

Planned conference sessions:

  • Session A: Interactions between surface water, hyporheic zone, saturated and unsaturated groundwater
  • Session B: Connections between ecology and groundwater recharge and evapotranspiration
  • Session C: Plant-groundwater interactions
  • Session D: Links between hydrology and biogeochemistry in groundwater
  • Session E: Modelling surface-water-groundwater systems
  • Session F: Modelling interactions between hydrology and ecology
  • Session G: Management, legal and regulatory issues
  • Session H: Bio-indicators of groundwater and surface water quality
  • Session I: Land use implications (including restoration and ecohydrology)
  • Session K: Global change (human activity, natural changes): from noises to trends
  • Session S: Landscape versus local controls on water quality in small streams



The following scientists are members of the Scientific Advisory Committee:

Richard Alexander (USA), Okke Batelaan (Belgium), Marc Bierkens (the Netherlands), Kevin Bishop (Sweden), Elisabeth Boyer (USA), Tim Burt (UK), Jan Fleckenstein (Germany), Andrea Goltara (Italy), Christian Griebler (Germany), David Hannah (UK), Ron Harvey (USA), Kate Heppell (UK), Carl Christian Hoffmann (Denmark), Stefan Krause (UK), Josef Krecek (Czech Republic), Michael McClain (the Netherlands), Brent D. Newman (Austria), Bertel Nilsson (Denmark), Tomasz Okruszko (Poland), Gilles Pinay (UK), Boris Schröder (Germany), Johan Schutten (UK), Mathieu Sebilo (France), Edward A Sudicky (Canada), Tetsuro Tsujimoto (Japan), Sjoerd van der Zee (the Netherlands), Niko Verhoest (Belgium).


More information about this event…


W200px eLTER logo